Welcome to Stress-les!

30 12 2009

Uppers--December 28, 2009

It has to be winter break–the waves look fun, but the crowds are thick. 

Listening to others on the walk back in the dark, I’m not the only one feeling unfulfilled.  In the winter, Trestles just isn’t the same.

Work your way into the lineup and the stress starts to mount.   The westies are pushing so much water they feel like boat wakes and are impossible to dominate.  And, every wave has about ten guys scratching toward shore trying to keep up with its deep-water speed.  Makes you want to give up. 

Then, you realize everybody else is going through the same frustration, but are in full denial.

Here’s a photo of sunset on Monday night.  Wish I had a real camera, not my crackberry.   It’s taken from the north end of Garcialand.    The crowd is split in two—some just north of the point and the rest in the bay–scavengers picking at the meat of the leftover rights.  Not many lefts today.

Enough whining–all this to say I can’t wait ’til the southern hemisphere kicks in again so I can try out my new board in real waves.  And, de-stress.

ps–yes, I said new board.

Actions

Information

3 responses

2 01 2010
JD

Dude,

I surfed uppers today (Jan 1st) 11:00 to 3:00 with 10 – 15 guys out total from middles through the bay. 5 ohs had it’s own crowd of 8 -10 guys!?!. Weird. I must have had 25 decent head high waves. Timing is everything.

2 01 2010
trestlessurf

I’m jealous!

But, I’m also definitely happy for you. Those days are the icing on the cake. I guess we all know where to show up tomorrow at the right tide, with a little more swell.

I looked at it at about noon. It looked pretty good, but I thought it might be a bit too windy. Now I know.

Thanks for stopping by—and the tip.

3 01 2010
Tim

I can not believe you finally got a new board. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

